Small Wars Journal

Mad Scientists Initiative

The Mad Scientist Initiative by U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC) explores the future through collaboration and partnerships with academia, industry and government. It seeks to uncover emerging and disruptive technologies and ideas by engaging outsiders and unconventional sources, bringing insights from the global marketplace of ideas into the Army through a credible, fair, and transparent process. More information here and an overview video here.

SWJ is pleased to help TRADOC extend their outreach for inputs and provide a vehicle for broadcasting findings to the Small Wars Community of Interest.

This page is dedicated to the memory of Mr. Joel Lawton, U.S. Army TRADOC civilian analyst, U.S. Marine, and veteran of the war in Afghanistan.

by Lydia Kostopoulos | Mon, 06/11/2018 - 3:53am | 1 comment
by Jason Rutledge | Thu, 06/07/2018 - 12:07am | 1 comment
by Elizabeth Chalecki | Wed, 04/18/2018 - 12:22pm | 0 comments
by Howard R. Simkin | Wed, 03/07/2018 - 9:52am | 0 comments
by Ralph Tillinghast | Mon, 03/05/2018 - 12:06am | 0 comments
by Alfred C. Crane III | Fri, 03/02/2018 - 8:08pm | 0 comments
by Michael Trumbo | Tue, 02/27/2018 - 8:02am | 0 comments
by Lydia Kostopoulos | Mon, 02/26/2018 - 5:59pm | 0 comments
by Eric Hovey | Fri, 02/23/2018 - 1:40pm | 0 comments
by Tyler Sweatt | Fri, 02/23/2018 - 1:23pm | 0 comments
by Gregg Campbell | Fri, 02/23/2018 - 12:26am | 0 comments
by Chuck Heard | Thu, 02/22/2018 - 9:23am | 0 comments
by U.S. Army TRADOC G2 Mad Scientist Initiative | Fri, 01/19/2018 - 3:58pm | 0 comments

We want your ideas!  The Mad Scientist Initiative uses storytelling and crowdsourcing to imagine potential futures.

by Robert E. Smith | Sun, 10/15/2017 - 2:50pm | 1 comment