Small Wars Journal

El Centro

SWJ El Centro, or "downtown" in Spanish, is our town square for analysis and discussion of Latin America's guerilla wars and criminal insurgencies.  More about El Centro here.

Recent El Centro Journal Articles and SWJ Blog Posts:

by Robert Bunker | Thu, 01/09/2014 - 4:02pm | 0 comments

The authors urge the U.S. to revisit the concept of hemispheric defense and develop and execute a new military strategy that will help maintain stability and prosperity in Latin America.

by Nathan P. Jones | Wed, 01/08/2014 - 1:05am | 0 comments
by Molly Molloy | Tue, 01/07/2014 - 12:54am | 0 comments
by Robert Bunker | Mon, 01/06/2014 - 6:35am | 0 comments

Drug Traffickers Threaten Central America's Democratic Gains by Elliott Abrams, Washington Post.

by SWJ Editors | Sun, 12/22/2013 - 1:35am | 1 comment

U.S. intelligence, GPS bomb kits help Latin American nation cripple rebel forces.

by SWJ Editors | Sat, 12/21/2013 - 11:32pm | 0 comments

In Honduras, Rival Gangs Keep a Death Grip on San Pedro Sula by Tracy Wilkinson, Los Angeles Times.

by Robert Bunker | Sat, 12/21/2013 - 9:23pm | 0 comments

Helicopter Gunships Used in Mexico Resort Battle - AP via ABC

by Robert Bunker | Sun, 12/15/2013 - 11:28pm | 0 comments

Univision Video: In Sinaloa, A Cemetery Dominated by Narcos.

by Robert Bunker | Sun, 12/15/2013 - 1:15pm | 0 comments

Mexico’s Petit Révolution: Justice and Security Implications of Approving a Fully New Code of Judicial Procedures by Viridiana Rios, Wilson Center.

by Chris Ince | Tue, 12/10/2013 - 12:03pm | 1 comment
by SWJ Editors | Mon, 12/09/2013 - 5:00pm | 3 comments

"They aren't just about Mexico or drugs anymore."

by John P. Sullivan | Wed, 11/27/2013 - 12:29pm | 0 comments
by John P. Sullivan | Mon, 11/25/2013 - 5:41am | 12 comments

Mexico’s cartels are significant social, political, and economic actors.

by Robert Bunker | Sun, 11/24/2013 - 3:07pm | 0 comments

The same people who leave dead bodies and severed heads littering a busy highway in Mexico are now moving their operations to Oklahoma.

by Robert Bunker | Fri, 11/22/2013 - 7:59pm | 0 comments

Call to Create OAS Inter-American Commission against Transnational Organized Crime - OAS Press Release.

by Robert Bunker | Wed, 11/13/2013 - 9:35am | 0 comments

Continue on for the film's trailer.

by SWJ Editors | Sun, 11/10/2013 - 1:14am | 0 comments

Documents Show Depth of US Concern over Mexico Violence by Alfredo Corchado, Dallas Morning News.